Item Information
Estimated Shipping 1 - 3 Days
Item Description
Michael Jackson

30th Anniversary Celebration

September 7, 2001

A 2-DVD Set

Video 9.5 Audio 10

with Menus



In late November 2001, the CBS television network aired a two-hour special in honor of Michael Jackson's 30th year as a solo entertainer (his first solo single, " Got to Be There", was recorded in 1971). The show was edited from footage of two separate concerts Michael had orchestrated in New York City's Madison Square Garden on September 7 and September 10 of 2001

First Hour

Opening the show was Samuel L. Jackson's presentation of Usher, Whitney Houston & Mýa, performing a rendition of Michael's hit song " Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'", from his 1982 album, Thriller . Among other performers and guests were Liza Minnelli singing " You Are Not Alone"; young Billy Gilman's performance of Jackson's 1972 #1 U.S. hit " Ben"; and James Ingram with Gloria Estefan singing Jackson's 1987 ballad, " I Just Can't Stop Loving You" (another #1 U.S. hit). Marc Anthony also sang " She's out of My Life".
Second Hour

The second hour of the show is by far the best remembered, featuring the exciting reunion of Michael and his brothers Jermaine, Jackie, Randy, Marlon, and Tito for a "greatest hits" medley, including their headlining songs " Can You Feel It", " ABC", " The Love You Save", " I Want You Back", " I'll Be There" and " Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground)". As the crowd roared, it was evident that the Jackson brothers were enjoying themselves, possibly even more than the adoring fans of past and present. Following the reunion, Michael announced surprise guests for the Jackson 5 hit " Dancing Machine": *NSYNC.

Following a short intermission, Chris Tucker then appeared onstage, recalls a humorous conversation between him and Jackson (imitating his voice) before announcing a live performance of what is arguably Jackson's most well-known tune: " Billie Jean" (The broadcast version is different showing The Way You Make Me Feel/Black Or White/Beat It and then Billie Jean). The superstar once again hit the stage, this time flanked by scores of dancers dressed as gang members for an explosive version of " Beat It". As Michael glided and danced his way across the floor, the crowd roared all the louder in appreciation. Immediately afterward, Slash was properly introduced for a powerful, whirlwind rendition of " Black or White". Then, to wind things down, Jackson joined Britney Spears for a performance of " The Way You Make Me Feel". The broadcast version that aired featured a different dancer than Spears while Jackson sang the whole song, but the removed clip can be found online. After, he performed his newest single, " You Rock My World", from the recently-released album Invincible . Michael was joined at the end of the song by Usher, who performed a smooth robotic dance routine.(The broadcast version ends after You Rock My World). Near the end of the final song, Jackson and Co. sang " We Are the World" onstage in an otherwise elaborate finale.

Set list

* " Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'" Usher, Mýa and Whitney Houston
* "Ben" - Billy Gilman
* " Angel" and " It Wasn't Me" - Shaggy featuring Rayvon and Rikrok
* " Heal the World" - Mýa, Deborah Cox, Rah Digga, Monica and Tamia featuring The Brooklyn Youth Choir
* " My Baby" - Lil' Romeo featuring Master P
* " She's out of My Life" - Marc Anthony
* " Bootylicious" - Destiny's Child
* "I Want Candy" - Aaron Carter
* "Home" (from The Wiz) - Monica
* "You Can't Win" (from The Wiz) - Jill Scott
* "Ease on Down the Road" (from The Wiz) - Monica, Jill Scott, Al Jarreau, Deborah Cox
* " You Are Not Alone" - Liza Minnelli
* "I Will Survive" - Gloria Gaynor
* "Get Ur Freak On" - Missy Elliot and Nelly Furtado
* "I'll Never Love This Way Again" - Dionne Warwick
* "Midnight Train To Georgia" - Gladys Knight
* " I Just Can't Stop Loving You" - James Ingram and Gloria Estefan
* " Man in the Mirror" - 98 Degrees, Usher and Luther Vandross
* " Can You Feel It" - The Jacksons
* "ABC" - The Jacksons
* " The Love You Save" - The Jacksons
* " I'll Be There" - The Jacksons
* " I Want You Back" - The Jacksons
* "Dancing Machine" - The Jacksons and *NSYNC
* " Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground)" - The Jacksons
* " Black or White" - Michael Jackson and Slash
* " Beat It" - Michael Jackson and Slash
* " Billie Jean" - Michael Jackson
*"The Way You Make Me Feel" - Michael Jackson
* " You Rock My World" - Michael Jackson, Chris Tucker and Usher


Comes in a full color holder and label

Plays on any DVD player

Seller's Other Items